Wednesday 19 June 2024 Abu Dhabi UAE
Prayer Timing
Today's Edition
Today's Edition

Norwich City, Newcastle United, Melbourne City triumph in 2024 Mina Cup

Norwich City, Newcastle United, Melbourne City triumph in 2024 Mina Cup
8 Apr 2024 22:55

Dubai (Aletihad)

Visiting Norwich City, Newcastle United, and Melbourne City were joined by local outfits Forza and Barca Academy Dubai in clinching top honours at the end of the 2024 Mina Cup that was held at the Jebel Ali Golf and Shooting Club and Resort.

Norwich City triumphed in the U-12s with a 2-0 win against local side Fursan Hispania, Newcastle United clinched the U-13s title with a 5-4 penalty shootout win against Chicago Fire, while Melbourne City will travel back to Australia with the U-14s trophy following their 2-1 win against Atlas.

Forza won the U-15 trophy following a hard-fought 2-1 win against Dubai City, and Barcelona Academy Dubai defeated Dubai City for the U-16 crown.

The winners in all age categories were crowned by English star Teddy Sheringham, a former England, Tottenham Hotspur, Manchester United, and West Ham United star striker, in his capacity as tournament ambassador.

  • Melbourne City boys celebrate after their triumph at the 2024 Mina Cup
    Melbourne City Under-14 boys celebrate after their triumph at the 2024 Mina Cup


Meanwhile, the success of this annual event has persuaded the organising committee to expand the competition further and take it to England, Saudi Arabia, and the USA. The winners of these competitions will eventually converge in Dubai to compete in the grand finals.

The JA Sports Centre is a purpose-built training facility that includes four flood-lit international-size football pitches. The vision behind the Mina Cup is to create a footballing legacy to champion the teams and players as part of their journey into professional football.

Roll of Honour

Under 12
Player of the tournament: Archie Leveritt (Norwich); best goalkeeper: Federico Andreas Anjon (Fursan); Top goalscorer: Oluwanifemi Taofeek (La Liga) 5 goals

Under 13

Player of the tournament: Graham Dixon (Chicago Fire); Best goalkeeper: Alex Bayraktarov (Chicago); Top goalscorer: Francisco Diaz (Chicago)

Under 14

Player of the tournament: Luka Demuth (Melbourne City); Best goalkeeper: Julian Garcia (Atlas); Top goalscorer: Andre Solorio (Atlas) 6 goals

Under 15

Player of the tournament: Uche Obisie (Forza); Best goalkeeper: Charlie Burns (Dubai City); Top goalscorer: Tatara Chakodza (Forza) 8 goals

Under 16

Player of the tournament: Ali Isreiwi (Barca); Best goalkeeper: Milan Van Droogenbroeck (Barca); Top goalscorer: Ifeoluwa Adesola (Fursan Hispania) 7 goals

Copyrights reserved to Aletihad News Center © 2024